Annual Research Achievement Awards Honor School of Architecture Faculty Members

Research Awards Arctic Group
UVA's Arctic Research Center principal investigators Cho, Epstein, Jull and Wylie were awarded a Research Collaboration Award for their focused research in Arctic regions. Left to right: President James Ryan, Associate Professor Leena Cho (Landscape Architecture), Professor Howard Epstein (Environmental Sciences), Associate Professor Caitlin Wylie (Engineering), Interim Vice President for Research Fred Epstein. Not pictured: Associate Professor Matthew Jull (Architecture)

The University of Virginia honored faculty members for their outstanding research and scholarship at the fifth annual Research Achievement Awards event, held last month at The Pavilion at Boar’s Head Resort.

“I’m a great admirer of these talented and dedicated researchers and the impressive breadth of research represented by this year’s award winners,” said President Jim Ryan. “Their work stretches from quantum physics to the Arctic, from cardiology to contemplative sciences. They ask important questions about our health, our well-being and our cultural world. They also mentor and inspire others, which multiplies their impact across Grounds and in their fields.”

130 researchers were honored that night for their achievements in research and scholarship, with 16 who were recognized with Research Achievement Awards.

Research Collaboration Award

cho epstein jull wylie compiled

Among the 16 were the School of Architecture’s Leena Cho (Landscape Architecture) and Matthew Jull (Architecture) who were selected alongside longstanding collaborators, Howard Epstein (Environmental Sciences) and Caitlin Wylie (Engineering) to receive this cycle’s Research Collaboration Award.  This award recognized the collaborative work, for nearly a decade, of this research team that is focused on Arctic regions. Cho, Epstein, Jull and Wylie have dedicated individual and collective efforts towards their research on the Arctic and its flora, fauna, buildings, landscapes, infrastructure, and communities, examining the complexities of natural and built environments in relationship to climate adaptation. Their important insights and actions include building datasets, resources, and partnerships directly with Arctic communities. 

“With the more recently defined Grand Challenge focus at UVA on Environmental Resiliency and Sustainability, the nominated team exemplifies the University’s commitment to a collaborative, high-impact approach to climate change,” said Malo A. Hutson, Dean and Edward E. Elson Professor, School of Architecture.

Research Faculty Honorees compiled

In addition to this Research Achievement Award, individuals from the School of Architecture were highlighted as having achieved notable recognition in their respective fields at a national level and/or nominated by their Schools for making substantial contributions to their field of study, influencing the academic community, and having a positive impact on society through their work: 

W.G. Clark, Edmund Schureman Campbell Professor, Architecture

Brian Davis, Associate Professor, Landscape Architecture 

Andrew Johnston, Associate Professor, Architectural History 

Jeana Ripple, Associate Professor, Architecture

Andrea Roberts, Associate Professor, Urban and Environmental Planning

Bev Wilson, Associate Professor, Urban and Environmental Planning

In recognition of all honorees Executive Vice President and Provost Ian Baucom said, “Across Grounds, faculty are pursuing groundbreaking research and scholarship that distinguishes the University and advances their disciplines. As we celebrate their achievements, it is important to acknowledge the tremendous effort these researchers have devoted to their work along the road to discovery.”

Got it!

This website uses anonymous cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
By continuing to use this website, you agree to our use of analytical and performance tracking.
We do not sell or share any personally identifying information. More info